What are the PPAP submission levels?

By Mari Luke | October 11, 2019
Person using a laptop

When your customer requires a PPAP, they will frequently note a submission level. The exact elements that need to be submitted to the customer will depend on the part and the requirements in the purchase order. According to the AIAG PPAP manual, all elements should be completed. The PPAP levels indicate which documents need to be submitted to the customer, and which can simply be retained by the manufacturer.

Level 1 - Part Submission Warrant (PSW) only
Level 2 - PSW with product samples and limited supporting data
Level 3 - PSW with product samples and complete supporting data
Level 4 - PSW and other requirements as defined by the customer
Level 5 - PSW with product samples and complete supporting data available for review at the supplier's manufacturing location

A few notes on the PPAP Levels:

  • A Level 1 PPAP may also include an Appearance Approval Report. 
  • Some companies have a standard PPAP level for one category of parts, and use different submission levels for other parts.

Learn more about PPAP and get a free PPAP Excel template.

What is the default submission level for PPAP?

A Level 3 PPAP requires that you submit all the documentation of a PPAP except elements 15 and 16, which are the master sample and checking aids.PPAP Submission Levels table

Download a free printable PDF on PPAP Submission Levels

InspectionXpert needs the contact information you provide to us to contact you about our products and services. You may unsubscribe from these communications at any time. For information on how to unsubscribe, as well as our privacy practices and commitment to protecting your privacy, please review our Privacy Policy.

Sources: AIAG PPAP Production Part Approval Process (PPAP) Manual, 4th Edition